Carryover deadness is NOT part of the basic rules of 9 Wicket croquet.
In the 2006 USCA Rules of 9 Wicket Croquet, I quote;
“After the striker ball roquets another ball, it does not earn any extra shots for hitting it again in the same turn before scoring the next wicket in order. However, there is no penalty for hitting the ball again (unless you are using Challenging Option #1, below)”.
In the FAQ section –Question: “Is there a rule that says you are ‘dead’ on a ball you’ve hit (not allowed to hit it) until you make your next wicket. Answer: Yes, see Option 1. However, in the regular version of backyard croquet, there is no carryover of “deadness” from one turn to the next (unless Option 1)
In the 2016 9 Wicket Rules, it is made clear “You are dead on a ball for extra shots until you clear your next wicket or on the start of your next turn whichever comes first. The basic rules do not have any carryover deadness.
Only when you play in the USCA 9 wicket nationals is there a deadness option. So, why are local clubs teaching the 9-wicket game with carryover deadness? For 9 wicket Nationals?
If you want to play with carryover deadness learn and play US 6 wicket croquet, don’t put this option in our 9-wicket game.
If we want to play the 9-wicket game on par with the 6-wicket game, the first thing that has to be done is establish one set of standard rules, taught and played at local clubs, and these standard rules played in national tournaments, no options. I think this is a no brainer. A set of standard rules can be very challenging for our long grass courts. We don’t play on pristine putting greens.
To me it doesn’t make much sense to look at other issues until we have one set of standard rules for our 9-wicket game. From this point forward all the other issues can be addressed.
Let's put the horse before the cart not the other way around which is what is being done now. This may be one reason why we can’t get a sponsor. Would you sponsor an event not knowing the rules? I wouldn’t. Would you go to an event not knowing the rules until you got there? I wouldn’t.